Benin

A return to democracy is not in sight

by Katrin Gänsler

Basic data

Benin gained independence from France on August 1, 1960, as the Republic of Dahomey. The country’s capital is Porto-Novo while its economic, political, and cultural center is the port city of Cotonou. Benin borders on Togo, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Nigeria. Today around 11.4 million people live in the country. In addition to French, the official language, 54 indigenous languages are spoken in Benin. The literacy rate among residents is low at 38%. Benin is considered the cradle of voodoo, a tradition that has its own holiday on January 10. The majority of the population (48.5%) adheres to Christianity, while 27.7% is Muslim. According to official numbers, 11.6% of the population practice voodoo. Benin is often referred to as the “Quartier latin de l’Afrique”.

Political and economic issues

After independence in 1960, the country saw several coups. During the Cold War, Dahomey turned to Marxism-Leninism in 1974 and one year later became the People’s Republic of Benin. The turnaround took place in 1989/1990 in the context of the collapse of the Soviet Union. Benin’s new beginning was determined at a national conference that introduced a multi-party system. Ever since then, the Beninese Constitution has been regarded as a constitutional model in the region, and has remained unchanged for about 30 years. In 2016, Benin saw a peaceful change of power that established entrepreneur Patrice Talon as President. Among other things, he has earned his fortune in cotton trade, which Forbes magazine estimated at 400 million Euros in 2015. In 2019, Talon came under fire for admitting only two government-related parties to the parliamentary elections on April 28. The five opposition parties were not placed on the ballot. Following the election, demonstrations broke out in Cotonou, shop windows were broken, and tires were set on fire. Benin ranks at position 96 (180) in the press freedom ranking and is frequently criticized for silencing oppositional voices in the media.
In the Human Development Index (HDI) developed by the United Nations (UN), Benin ranks at position 163 (188). In 2015, almost every second person (49.5%) lived below the poverty line. Compared to 2011 (53.1%), the poverty rate has only slightly improved. Benin recorded a growth rate of 6.9% in 2018. Gross domestic product (GDP) was just under $10.4 billion and was broken down as follows: Agriculture 26.1%; Industry 22,8%; Services 51.1%. Remittances from migrants ranged at around $ 368 million in 2018, which amounts to 3.6% of GDP. Benin has a negative trade balance and is dependent on the export of cotton and thus on falling and rising world market prices. Cotonou’s port, which generates more than 60% of GDP, is particularly important for the economy. It is to be expanded from 2020 on, for which the government has budgeted 450 million Euros according to the investment plan. The port is known in the region above all as a huge transshipment point for used cars from Europe and the USA. However, the port is in competition with that of Lomé in Togo. In general, Benin’s economy is extremely dependent on the neighboring country of Nigeria. Thus the effects of Nigerian crises or recessions like the one in 2016 are particularly noticeable in Benin. The Danktokpa Market in Cotonou, one of the largest open air markets in the region, is of high importance for traders in West Africa. In Transparency International’s Corruption Perception Index (CPI), Benin ranks at position 85 (180).
Benin is still considered politically stable. However, there are fears that the country might develop into an autocracy under Talon. It is said that he in that sense could follow the model of Rwanda, which has been governed by Paul Kagame since 2000. Moreover, in May 2019, two French tourists were kidnapped and their Beninese tour guide was murdered in the Pendjari National Park in the north of the country. Fears are growing about terror groups in the Sahel – currently primarily via Burkina Faso – spreading towards the coast.

Migration movements

Benin has long been considered a classic country of emigration. Various studies, published between 2006 and 2012, estimated that between 412,000 and three million Beninese live outside the country, although it can be assumed that the numbers are higher. According to Professor John Igue, geographer, university professor, and formerly Benin’s Minister of Industry and Trade, the country will increasingly become an immigration country, however. The International Organization for Migration (IOM) reports 2.3% of the population to be migrants with other estimates suggesting lower numbers (183,700). About three quarters of this migrant population originate from the neighboring countries of Nigeria, Togo, and Niger.
Togolese people have come to Benin in recent decades not only because of economic opportunities, but increasingly also to escape political crises. Since August 2017, violence against political opposition groups and activists from civil society has intensified in Togo. As a result of local riots in Cobly, a town in the north-west of Benin, more than 1,500 people became internally displaced in July 2018.
Benin remains attractive as a transit country to North Africa. Unlike in Nigerian cities such as Lagos or Port Harcourt, there are buses continuously going to the Nigerian capital Niamey. Traveling within ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) has been made possible by the 1979 Protocol on Free Movement of Persons, Residence, and Establishment. Although, normally, an ECOWAS passport is required to cross the border between Nigeria and Benin, a small sum of money (between one and three Euros) enables border-crossing at least at the checkpoint of Seme in the far south. Individual border officials emphasize that this is a fee. However, this is often unclear.
Seme Border is the most important border-crossing point between Benin and Nigeria and for years used to be a large construction site that did not have technical devices such as fingerprinting machines. The checkpoint was completed in October 2018. So far, no fingerprints have been taken at Beninese borders – at least not in Igolo in the north of Porto Novo, nor else in Hillacondji at the border with Togo. In Hillacondji the expansion of the transition is remarkable, however, where not only is the road being renewed, but apparently a long wall is also being built. The Cardinal Bernardin Gantin International Airport in Cotonou has passport scanners, and travelers’ fingerprints are also taken there. Entry cards, which are common almost everywhere on the continent, are no longer in use.
There are currently 1,223 refugees living in the country. While 961 of them originate from the Central African Republic, 161 originate from the Ivory Coast.
The number of Beninese citizens who reach Europe by land continues to be small. In 2018, only 508 persons from Benin applied for asylum in EU member states, in the USA, in Canada, Brazil, Morocco, Algeria, and South Africa. In Germany 108 asylum cases were filed, of which 81 had been rejected by the end of 2018. The worldwide admission rate was low at 4.4% and is declining. Unlike in several neighboring countries Benin’s laws do not discriminate against homosexuality. However, same-sex relationships are far from socially accepted. Germany does not classify Benin as a safe country of origin, while the former colonial power France does. In 2010, France and Benin signed a bilateral re-admission agreement which has since been effective. France has established similar contracts with other former colonies, such as Burkina Faso and Cameroon.
Other countries are popular with migrant workers in the region: Gabon, Nigeria (where about 380,000 Beninese reside) and Ivory Coast, which is considered the country of immigration par excellence in Francophone Africa, according to the report on economic development in Africa (2018) by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). The flight connections to Abidjan is indicative of this development. Connections to Central Africa, to Gabon, and to the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Congo-Brazzaville have also been expanded.
Benin and Nigeria signed a bilateral agreement to combat human trafficking in 2009, as trafficking routes frequently run through Cotonou. The agreement regulates the prosecution of the suspected perpetrators and the return of the victims to their home country. In 2011, this was followed by another agreement, against child trafficking, with the Democratic Republic of the Congo. A further agreement has been in place since 2005, which specifies mutual cooperation in the combat of child trafficking between nine West African countries (Accord mulilateral de Coopération en Matière de Lutte contre la Traite des Enfants en Afrique de l’Ouest). In April 2019, Interpol reported that 220 individuals had been freed from human traffickers in Benin and Nigeria.
Benin has furthermore signed the following agreements: ILO Migration for Employment Convention, Refugee Convention (1962), Refugee Protocol (1970), ILO Migrant Workers Convention (1980), Convention on the Rights of the Child (1990), UN Migrant Workers Convention (1990), Human Trafficking Protocol (2004), Migrant Smuggling Protocol (2004).

EU engagement and cooperation

The basis for the cooperation between the EU and Benin is the National Program 2014–2020 (National Indicative Program), which is part of the current European Development Fund for Africa (EDF). The area of good governance is funded with 184 million Euros, and that of sustainable development in agriculture with 80 million Euros. Another 80 million Euros is determined to go into improved access to energy supply. Support for civil society accounts for 18 million Euros. The sum in the previous EU development fund with similar priorities amounted to EUR 380.37 million.
In general, Benin has been a favorite partner in European development cooperation for decades, partly because it is politically stable. The Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) has been on site for 40 years boasting a staff of 360 (national, international, development workers). Numerous other public and private collaborations have been established.
In recent years, several projects on migration have been developed, especially at the regional level. At the beginning, the main goal was to collect missing data. Another program, co-directed with the countries of Mali, Cameroon, and Senegal, was the Partnership for Labor Migration Management, which was launched in 2009 as part of the EU-Africa partnership. It was devised specifically to disseminate and make public international job offers, and to create better networking opportunities between the West African countries.

NGOs and civil society

Migration is ubiquitous in Benin. Families are proud of their children who study or work in Europe. There are regular information events and campaigns raising awareness about the risks of migration by land. However, the topic is not as present as it is among NGOs in Senegal or Mali.
In 2006, Franco-Beninese filmmaker Sylvestre Amoussou became internationally successful for “Africa Paradis.” The satirical film, set in 2033, reverses current developments. A couple try to immigrate to the fictional “United States of Africa” and face massive problems entering the country, while experiencing discrimination. This shows that in Benin migration has been a relevant topic for years.

Economic interests and armaments

Benin is part of the “Compact with Africa” initiative, founded in 2017 in the context of Germany’s G20 presidency, and could become increasingly interesting as an investment location for international partners. This trend is also driven by President Patrice Talon’s pro-business policies, and in particular his program “Bénin Révélé” which seeks to implement 45 basic infrastructure projects in nine sectors. However, NGOs and the poorer population criticize that the measures are socially very unbalanced and that the majority of the population will not benefit from this program.
Benin hosts the Multinational Maritime Coordination Center (MMCC, Multinational Maritime Coordination Center) of ECOWAS. In 2013, the EU committed around 4.5 million Euros to the Critical Maritime Routes in the Gulf of Guinea Program (CRIMGO).
Arms exports to Benin remain insignificant.

Migration in numbers

2018: 508 asylum applications (worldwide), admission rate 4.4%
2018: 108 asylum applications (Germany), acceptance rate 0%
2006–2013: between 411,808 and up to three million Beninans live outside of Benin
2019: 1,223 refugees in Benin
2013: Between 183,700 and 262,200 migrants in Benin
2018: $368 million remittances, 3.6% of GDP
2010: Informal agreements related to migration with France “Joint Migration Management”
Formal readmission agreements: France
Frontex cooperation: yes, cooperation from the African Intelligence Community
Internment camp: –
Illegal departure: criminal offence since 1990, imprisonment of up to 6 months

Materials and sources

image_pdfimage_print
Scroll to top

Benin

Keine Demokratie-Rendite in Sicht

von Katrin Gänsler

Basisdaten

Benin wurde am 1. August 1960 als Republik Dahomey von Frankreich unabhängig. Die Hauptstadt ist Porto-Novo, wirtschaftliches, politisches und kulturelles Zentrum jedoch die Hafenstadt Cotonou. Benin grenzt an Togo, Burkina Faso, Niger und Nigeria. Im Land leben heute rund 11,4 Millionen Menschen. Neben der offiziellen Sprache Französisch sind für Benin 54 weitere gelistet. 38 Prozent der Einwohner*innen können lesen und schreiben. Benin gilt als Wiege des Voodoo mit einem eigenen Feiertag am 10. Januar. Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung bekennt sich mit 48,5 Prozent zum Christentum, gefolgt vom Islam (27,7 Prozent). Offiziell geben 11,6 Prozent an, Voodoo zu praktizieren. Benin wird gerne als das „Quartier latin de l’Afrique“ bezeichnet.

Regierung/Wirtschaft/Konflikte

Nach der Unabhängigkeit 1960 kam es zu mehreren Staatsstreichen. Während des Kalten Krieges wandte sich Dahomey 1974 dem Marxismus-Leninismus zu und wurde ein Jahr später zur Volksrepublik Benin. Die Wende erfolgte 1989/1990 mit dem Zusammenfall der Sowjetunion. In Benin regelte eine Nationalkonferenz den Neuanfang mit der Einführung des Mehrparteiensystems. Die beninische Verfassung gilt in der Region als Musterverfassung, die in den vergangenen knapp 30 Jahren nicht angerührt worden ist. 2016 kam es zu einem friedlichen Machtwechsel, durch den der Unternehmer Patrice Talon Präsident wurde. Sein Vermögen, das das Wirtschaftsmagazin Forbes 2015 mit 400 Millionen Euro angab, hat er unter anderem mit dem Handel von Baumwolle verdient. Talon geriet 2019 in die Kritik, weil zu den Parlamentswahlen am 28. April nur zwei regierungsnahe Parteien, nicht jedoch die fünf Oppositionsparteien von der Wahlkommission zugelassen wurden. In Cotonou kam es nach der Wahl zu Demonstrationen, Schaufensterscheiben wurden eingeschlagen und Reifen angezündet. Benin belegt im Ranking der Pressefreiheit Platz 96 (180). Kritisiert wird, dass die Opposition in den Medien oft zu wenig berücksichtigt wird.

Im Entwicklungsindex der Vereinten Nationen (UN) belegt Benin Platz 163 von 188. 2015 lebte fast jede*r Zweite unterhalb der Armutsgrenze (49,5 Prozent). Im Vergleich zu 2011 (53,1 Prozent) hat sich die Zahl nur unwesentlich verbessert. Dabei hat Benin 2018 eine Wachstumsrate von 6,9 Prozent verzeichnet. Das Bruttoinlandsprodukts (BIP) lag bei knapp 10,4 Milliarden US-Dollar und setzte sich wie folgt zusammen: Landwirtschaft 26,1 Prozent; Industrie 22,8 Prozent; Dienstleistungen 51,1 Prozent. Die Rücküberweisungen von Migrant*innen lagen 2018 bei rund 368 Millionen US-Dollar, was 3,6 Prozent des BIP ausmacht. Benin hat eine negative Handelsbilanz und ist vom Export der Baumwolle und somit von sinkenden und steigenden Weltmarktpreisen abhängig. Besonders wichtig für die Wirtschaft ist auch der Hafen, durch den mehr als 60 Prozent des BIP erwirtschaftet werden. Er soll ab 2020 ausgebaut werden, wofür die Regierung laut Investitionsplan 450 Millionen Euro veranschlagt hat. In der Region bekannt ist der Hafen vor allem als riesiger Umschlagplatz für gebrauchte Autos aus Europa und den USA. Der Hafen steht jedoch in Konkurrenz mit dem von Lomé in Togo. Extrem abhängig ist die Wirtschaft auch vom Nachbarland Nigeria. Kommt es dort zu Krisen oder wie 2016 zu einer Rezession, dann sind die Auswirkungen in Benin besonders spürbar. Für Händler*innen in Westafrika ist in Cotonou der Markt Danktokpa, einer der größten in der Region, von Bedeutung. Im Korruptionsindex von Transparency International liegt Benin auf Platz 85 von 180.

Benin gilt weiterhin als politisch stabil. Es gibt jedoch Befürchtungen, dass sich das Land unter Talon möglicherweise zu einer Autokratie entwickeln kann. Es heißt, dass er sich dafür Ruanda zum Vorbild genommen habe, wo Paul Kagame bereits seit 2000 regiert. Im Nationalpark Pendjari im Norden sind zudem im Mai 2019 zwei französische Touristen entführt worden. Ihr beninischer Tourguide wurde ermordet. Es gibt Befürchtungen, dass sich Terrorgruppen im Sahel – aktuell vor allem über Burkina Faso – weiter in Richtung Küste ausbreiten.

Migrationsbewegungen

Benin galt lange als das klassische Auswanderungsland mit rund drei Millionen Migrant*innen. Laut Professor John Igue, Geograf, Hochschulprofessor und ehemaliger Industrieminister in Benin, wird es jedoch immer stärker zum Einwanderungsland, sodass laut Internationaler Organisation für Migration (IOM, International Organisation of Migration) 2,3 Prozent der Bevölkerung heute Migrant*innen sind. Anderen Schätzungen zufolge sind es jedoch weniger (183.700). Etwa drei Viertel stammen aus dem angrenzenden Nachbarländern Nigeria, Togo und Niger.

Togoer*innen sind in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten nicht nur wegen wirtschaftlicher Möglichkeiten, sondern auch aufgrund politischer Krisen – seit August 2017 verschärfte sich die Gewalt gegen politische Oppositionelle und Aktivisten innerhalb der Zivilgesellschaft – nach Benin gekommen. Nach lokalen Ausschreitungen in Cobly im Norden im Juli 2018 wurden mehr als 1.500 Menschen zu Binnenflüchtlingen.

In Richtung Nordafrika bleibt Benin als Transitland attraktiv. Anders als etwa in nigerianischen Städten wie Lagos oder Port Harcourt gibt es durchgehende Busse in die nigrische Hauptstadt Niamey. Das Reisen innerhalb der Westafrikanischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) macht das 1979 ratifizierte Abkommen zur Reise- und Aufenthaltsfreiheit (Protocol on Free Movement of Persons, Residence, and Establishment) möglich. Gefordert wird zwar beim Grenzübertritt von Nigeria nach Benin eigentlich ein ECOWAS-Reisepass. Gegen die Zahlung einer geringen Summe – etwa zwischen einem und drei Euro – ist zumindest am Grenzübergang Seme im äußersten Süden auch eine Überquerung ohne Papiere möglich. Einzelne Grenzbeamt*innen betonen, dass es sich um eine Gebühr handelt. Häufig ist das jedoch unklar.

Der Grenzübergang Seme Border ist der wichtigste zwischen Benin und Nigeria und war jahrelang eine Großbaustelle, die nicht über technische Geräte, etwa für das Erfassen von Fingerabdrücken, verfügte. Seit Oktober 2018 ist der Grenzübergang fertig gestellt. Bisher werden an beninischen Landesgrenzen – zumindest weder in Igolo nördlich von Porto Novo, noch in Hillacondji an der Grenze zu Togo – Fingerabdrücke genommen. In Hillacondji ist jedoch der Ausbau des Übergangs bemerkenswert, da nicht nur die Straße erneuert, sondern augenscheinlich auch eine lange Mauer errichtet wird. Am internationale Flughafen Cardinal Bernardin Gantin in Cotonou gibt es Lesegeräte für Pässe, auch werden Fingerabdrücke genommen. Einreisekarten, die fast überall auf dem Kontinent üblich sind, müssen hier bereits seit längerer Zeit nicht mehr ausgefüllt werden.

Aktuell leben 1.223 Flüchtlinge im Land. Während 961 aus der Zentralafrikanischen Republik stammen, kommen 161 aus der Elfenbeinküste.

In verschiedenen Studien, erschienen zwischen 2006 und 2012, wurde geschätzt, dass zwischen knapp 412.000 und drei Millionen Beniner*innen außerhalb des Landes leben. Es ist anzunehmen, dass die Zahlen höher sind.

Die Zahl der Beniner*innen, die über den Landweg nach Europa gelangen wollen, hält sich weiterhin in Grenzen. 2018 wurden nur 508 Asylanträge in den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, den USA, Kanada, Brasilien, Marokko, Algerien und Südafrika gestellt. In Deutschland waren es 108, von denen bisher 81 abgelehnt wurden. Die Aufnahmequote lag weltweit bei 4,4 Prozent und ist rückläufig. Anders als in zahlreichen anderen Ländern gibt es in Benin keine Gesetze, die Homosexuelle diskriminieren. Gesellschaftlich akzeptiert sind gleichgeschlechtliche Beziehungen jedoch keinesfalls. Benin wird von Deutschland nicht als sicheres Herkunftsland eingestuft, von der einstigen Kolonialmacht Frankreich jedoch schon; seit 2010 besteht ein bilaterales Rücknahmeabkommen zwischen Frankreich und Benin. Ähnliche Verträge gibt es auch mit anderen ehemaligen Kolonien, etwa Burkina Faso und Kamerun.

Bei Arbeitsmigrant*innen in der Region sind indes andere Länder beliebt: Gabun, das Nachbarland Nigeria (knapp 380.000 Beniner*innen) sowie die Elfenbeinküste, die nach dem Bericht Wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in Afrika (2018) der Konferenz der Vereinten Nationen für Handel und Entwicklung (UNCTAD) als das Einwanderungsland schlechthin im frankophonen Afrika gilt. Darauf deuten auch die Flugverbindungen nach Abidjan hin. Auch Verbindungen nach Zentralafrika, etwas nach Gabun und in die Demokratische Republik Kongo sowie Kongo-Brazzaville, sind ausgebaut worden.

Zwischen Benin und Nigeria ist 2009 ein bilaterales Abkommen zur Bekämpfung des Menschenhandels, der ebenfalls häufig über Cotonou läuft, geschlossen worden. Es beinhaltet die Strafverfolgung der mutmaßlichen Täter*innen sowie die Rückführung der Opfer ins Heimatland. 2011 folgte ein weiteres Abkommen gegen Kinderhandel mit der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Seit 2005 besteht zudem ein Abkommen zwischen neun westafrikanischen Ländern, sich bei der Bekämpfung des Kinderhandels gegenseitig zu unterstützen (Accord mulilateral de Cooperation en Matiere de Lutte contre la Traite des Enfants en Afrique de l’Ouest). Im April 2019 meldete Interpol, 220 Personen in Benin und Nigeria von Menschenhändler*innen befreit zu haben.

Benin hat zudem folgende Abkommen unterzeichnet: ILO Migration for Employment Convention, Refugee Convention (1962), Refugee Protocol (1970), ILO Migrant Workers Convention (1980), Convention on the Rights of the Child (1990), UN Migrant Workers Convention (1990), Human Trafficking Protocol (2004), Migrant Smuggling Protocol (2004).

EU-Engagement/Kooperation

Grundlage für die Kooperation zwischen der EU und Benin ist das Nationalprogramm 2014-2020 (National Indicative Programme), das Teil des aktuellen Europäischen Entwicklungsfonds für Afrika (EEF) ist. Unterstützt werden die Bereiche gute Regierungsführung mit 184 Millionen Euro und nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Landwirtschaft mit 80 Millionen Euro. Weitere 80 Millionen Euro sind für den verbesserten Zugang zu Energieversorgung bestimmt. Auf die Unterstützung für die Zivilgesellschaft entfallen noch einmal 18 Millionen Euro. Die Summe im vorherigen Entwicklungsfonds der EU mit ähnlichen Schwerpunkten belief sich indes auf 380,37 Millionen Euro.

Generell ist Benin ist seit Jahrzehnten einer der Lieblinge der europäischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, auch weil es politisch stabil ist. Die Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) ist seit 40 Jahren vor Ort und hat eigenen Angaben zufolge 360 Mitarbeiter*innen (national, international, Entwicklungshelfer*innen). Es gibt zahlreiche andere staatliche und private Kooperationen.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat es mehrfach Projekte – vor allem auf regionaler Ebene – zur Migration gegeben. Ziel war es anfangs vor allem, fehlende Daten zu erheben. Ein weiteres Programm – gemeinsam mit den Ländern Mali, Kamerun und Senegal – war das Programm Partnerschaft zum Management von Arbeitsmigration (Partnership for Labour Migration Management), das 2009 im Rahmen der EU-Afrika-Partnerschaft gestartet wurde. So sollten vor allem internationale Stellenangebote öffentlich gemacht und eine bessere Vernetzung zwischen den westafrikanischen Ländern geschaffen werden.

NGOs und Zivilgesellschaft

In Benin ist Migration allgegenwärtig. Familien sind stolz darauf, wenn eins der Kinder in Europa studiert oder arbeitet. Zu den Risiken von Migration über den Landweg gibt es immer wieder Informationsveranstaltungen sowie Kampagnen. Das Thema ist aber nicht so präsent wie bei NGOs in Ländern wie dem Senegal und Mali.

2006 landete der franko-beninische Filmemacher Sylvestre Amoussou mit „Africa Paradis“ einen internationalen Erfolg. Der satirische Film, der im Jahr 2033 spielt, dreht die aktuelle Entwicklung um. Ein Paar versucht, in das fiktive Land „United States of Africa“ zu immigrieren und erlebt massive Probleme bei der Einreise und Diskriminierung. Das zeigt, dass Migration bereits seit Jahren ein Thema im Land ist.

Wirtschaftliche Interessen/Rüstung

Benin gehört zur Initiative „Compact with Africa“ und könnte zunehmend als Investitionsstandort interessant werden. Dazu trägt auch die wirtschaftsfreundliche Politik von Präsident Patrice Talon bei, der mit seinem Programm „Bénin Révélé“ 45 grundlegende Infrastrukturmaßnahmen in neun Sektoren umsetzen will. NGOs und die ärmere Bevölkerung kritisieren jedoch, dass die Maßnahmen nicht sozialverträglich sind und die Masse der Bevölkerung nicht davon profitiert.

Benin ist Standort des Multinationalen Maritimen Koordinationszentrums (MMCC, Multinational Maritime Coordination Center) der ECOWAS. 2013 hat die EU gut 4,5 Millionen Euro für das Programm Risikoreiche Seewege am Golf von Guinea (CRIMGO, Critical Maritime Routes in the Gulf of Guinea Programme) bereitgestellt.

Rüstungsexporte nach Benin spielen keine Rolle.

Migration in Zahlen

2018: 508 Asylanträge (weltweit), Aufnahmequote 4,4 Prozent

2018: 108 Asylanträge (Deutschland), Aufnahmequote 0 Prozent

2006 – 2013: zwischen 411.808 und bis zu drei Millionen Beniner*innen leben außerhalb Benins

2019: 1223 Flüchtlinge in Benin

2013: Zwischen 183.700 und 262.200 Migranten in Benin

2018: Rücküberweisungen in Höhe 368 Millionen US-Dollar, 3,6 Prozent des BIP

2010: Informelle Vereinbarungen mit Migrationsbezug mit Frankreich „Joint Migration Management“

Formale Rücknahmeabkommen: Frankreich

Frontex-Kooperation: ja, Kooperation via African Intelligence Community

Internierungslager: –

Straftat illegale Ausreise: ja, seit 1990, bis zu 6 Monate Haft

Materialien und Quellen

image_pdfimage_print
Nach oben scrollen