Decrypting ICMPD

by Sofian Philip Naceur

 

‘The Tunisian border is also an Austrian border when it comes to preventing irregular, illegal migration’, Austria’s Minister of Interior Karl Nehammer proclaimed in June 2020 during a press conference in Vienna, jointly held with the General Director of the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) Michael Spindelegger. On this occasion, Nehammer and the ICMPD director announced the launch of the Integrated Border Management Program’s third edition (IBM Tunisia III), yet another border control and surveillance project in Tunisia featuring a budget of EUR 8,3 Million and co-funded by the governments of Austria, Germany and Denmark. Contracted to coordinate and implement the project is the Vienna-based ICMPD, an international organization providing research and consultancy services as well as on-the-ground operations in the field of ‘migration management’ and border control across dozens of countries in Europe, Asia and Africa.

Although ICMPD has been already established in 1993 and had turned ever since into an important player regarding the externalization of the European border regime to Tunisia and other countries in the region, the organization is still largely unknown in Tunisia and Europe. After the opening of its Tunis office in 2015, ICMPD significantly expanded its Tunisia operations and is today involved in a wide array of Europe-funded projects, aimed at fortifying Tunisia’s land and sea borders and at externalizing the European border control regime to North African shores. In Tunisia, ICMPD is contracted to coordinate ‘migration governance’ projects, capacity building for Tunisian authorities, a data collection program and informal dialogues between government officials and civil society. More importantly in terms of budget and immediate impact on the ground however are two large-scale police training and procurement projects with a total budget of EUR 33 Million. In the framework of these projects, ICMPD organizes training for Tunisian police and customs authorities, purchases sophisticated surveillance and border control equipment for Tunisia’s National Garde and is in charge of the establishment of two inter-agency police training facilities in the governorates of Béja and Tozeur, designed to facilitate training for Tunisian border guards and police authorities of ‘neighboring states’.

Disguised as projects that serve Tunisia’s interests and increase ‘border security’, these projects are in fact aimed at turning Tunisia into a key watchdog of the European border regime and an outright fortress as they provide incentives for Tunisian authorities to restrict free movement of people and keep people on the move afar from European shores. ICMPD is still a relatively small organization in terms of staff and budget compared to other key actors of the EU border regime. Over the years however, ICMPD has turned from a minor and temporary consultancy project to an important service provider for European states and a vital player for the externalization of the EU border regime. As ICMPD remains a largely unknown organization in both Tunisia and Europe, this report aims at profiling ICMPD’s activities in Tunisia and shedding light on its history, overall agenda and operational transformation to better understand its impact in Tunisia and beyond.

The broshure publisehd by FTDES  can be downloaded in ENGLISH  and in ARABIC

The focus of the brochure is on ICMPD’s activities in Tunisia, but there is also a very informative general section. In the abstract, it sais:

Despite its substantial growth since its establishment
in 1993, the International Centre for Migration Policy
Development (ICMPD) is still a relatively small
organization in terms of staff and budget compared to
other key actors of the EU border regime. Over the years
however, ICMPD turned from a minor and temporary
consultancy project to an important service provider for
European states and a vital player for the externalization
of the EU border control regime. More recently, ICMPD
is increasingly involved in EU-funded procurement
programs and supplies non-European states with border
control and surveillance equipment. Since ICMPD opened
its Tunis office in 2015, its impact on the Tunisia-EU
migration cooperation grew substantially. Yet, the
organization is still largely unknown in both Tunisia and
Europe. Hence, this report aims at profiling ICMPD’s
activities in Tunisia and shedding light on its history,
overall agenda and operational transformation to better
understand its impact in Tunisia and beyond.

image_pdfimage_print
Scroll to top

Was tut der ICMPD?

von Sofian Philip Naceur

„Die tunesische Grenze ist auch eine österreichische Grenze, wenn es darum geht, irreguläre, illegale Migration zu verhindern“, verkündete Innenminister Karl Nehammer im Juni 2020 bei einer Pressekonferenz in Wien, die er gemeinsam mit dem Generaldirektor des Internationalen Zentrums für Migrationspolitikentwicklung (ICMPD) Michael Spindelegger abhielt. Bei dieser Gelegenheit kündigten Nehammer und der ICMPD-Direktor den Start der dritten Auflage des Integrated Border Management Program (IBM Tunisia III) an, ein weiteres Grenzkontroll- und Überwachungsprojekt in Tunesien mit einem Budget von 8,3 Millionen Euro, das von den Regierungen Österreichs, Deutschlands und Dänemarks mitfinanziert wird. Mit der Koordinierung und Umsetzung des Projekts wurde das in Wien ansässige ICMPD beauftragt, eine internationale Organisation, die Forschungs- und Beratungsdienstleistungen sowie Vor-Ort-Einsätze im Bereich „Migrationsmanagement“ und Grenzkontrolle in Dutzenden von Ländern in Europa, Asien und Afrika anbietet.

Obwohl das ICMPD bereits 1993 gegründet wurde und sich seitdem zu einem wichtigen Akteur in Bezug auf die Externalisierung des europäischen Grenzregimes nach Tunesien und andere Länder der Region entwickelt hat, ist die Organisation in Tunesien und Europa noch weitgehend unbekannt. Nach der Eröffnung des Büros in Tunis im Jahr 2015 hat ICMPD seine Aktivitäten in Tunesien erheblich ausgeweitet und ist heute an einer Vielzahl von europäisch finanzierten Projekten beteiligt, die auf die Befestigung der tunesischen Land- und Seegrenzen und die Externalisierung des europäischen Grenzkontrollregimes an den nordafrikanischen Küsten abzielen. In Tunesien ist ICMPD mit der Koordination von Projekten zur „Migrationssteuerung“, dem Aufbau von Kapazitäten für tunesische Behörden, einem Datenerfassungsprogramm und informellen Dialogen zwischen Regierungsvertretern und der Zivilgesellschaft beauftragt. Wichtiger in Bezug auf das Budget und die unmittelbare Wirkung vor Ort sind jedoch zwei groß angelegte Polizeischulungs- und Beschaffungsprojekte mit einem Gesamtbudget von 33 Millionen Euro. Im Rahmen dieser Projekte organisiert das ICMPD Schulungen für tunesische Polizei- und Zollbehörden, kauft hochentwickelte Überwachungs- und Grenzkontrollausrüstung für die tunesische Nationalgarde und ist für die Einrichtung von zwei behördenübergreifenden Polizeiausbildungsstätten in den Gouvernements Béja und Tozeur verantwortlich, die die Ausbildung des tunesischen Grenzschutzes und der Polizeibehörden der „Nachbarstaaten“ erleichtern sollen.

Getarnt als Projekte, die den Interessen Tunesiens dienen und die „Grenzsicherheit“ erhöhen, zielen diese Projekte in Wirklichkeit darauf ab, Tunesien zu einem wichtigen Aufpasser des europäischen Grenzregimes und zu einer regelrechten Festung zu machen, da sie den tunesischen Behörden Anreize bieten, den freien Personenverkehr einzuschränken und Menschen in Bewegung von den europäischen Küsten fernzuhalten. ICMPD ist immer noch eine relativ kleine Organisation in Bezug auf Personal und Budget im Vergleich zu anderen Schlüsselakteuren des EU-Grenzregimes. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich ICMPD jedoch von einem kleinen und zeitlich begrenzten Beratungsprojekt zu einem wichtigen Dienstleister für die europäischen Staaten und zu einem wichtigen Akteur für die Externalisierung des EU-Grenzregimes entwickelt. Da das ICMPD sowohl in Tunesien als auch in Europa eine weitgehend unbekannte Organisation bleibt, zielt dieser Bericht darauf ab, ein Profil der Aktivitäten des ICMPD in Tunesien zu erstellen und seine Geschichte, seine allgemeine Agenda und seine operative Transformation zu beleuchten, um seinen Einfluss in Tunesien und darüber hinaus besser zu verstehen.

Die von FTDES herausgegebene Broschüre kann in ENGLISCH und in ARABISCH heruntergeladen werden. Der Schwerpunkt des Berichts liegt auf den Aktivitäten des ICMPD in Tunesien, aber es gibt auch einen sehr informativen allgemeinen Teil. In der Zusammenfassung heißt es:

Trotz seines erheblichen Wachstums seit seiner Gründung
1993 ist das Internationale Zentrum für Migrationspolitik
Entwicklung (ICMPD) immer noch eine relativ kleine
Organisation in Bezug auf Personal und Budget im Vergleich zu
anderen Schlüsselakteuren des EU-Grenzregimes. Im Laufe der Jahre
hat sich das ICMPD jedoch von einem kleinen und zeitlich begrenzten
Beratungsprojekt zu einem wichtigen Dienstleister für die
europäischen Staaten und zu einem wichtigen Akteur bei der Externalisierung
des EU-Grenzkontrollregimes entwickelt. In jüngster Zeit ist das ICMPD
zunehmend an EU-finanzierten Beschaffungsprogrammen beteiligt und
beliefert außereuropäische Staaten mit
Grenzkontroll- und Überwachungsausrüstung.
Seit der Eröffnung des ICMPD- Büros in Tunis im Jahr 2015 
ist
sein Einfluss auf die
Migrationskooperation zwischen Tunesien und der EU
 erheblich gewachsen. Dennoch ist die Organisation sowohl in Tunesien
als auch in Europa noch weitgehend unbekannt. Daher soll dieser Bericht

das Profil der ICMPD-Aktivitäten in Tunesien und die Geschichte des ICPMD beleuchten, um die allgemeine Agenda und die operative Transformation
seiner Wirkung in Tunesien und darüber hinaus zu verstehen.

 

image_pdfimage_print
Nach oben scrollen