Somalia

Forced migrations and voluntary returns

by Simone Schlindwein

Almost one third of the Somali population has fled in 25 years of civil war – more than four million people in absolute numbers. Now the transitional government is making efforts to bring them back home. The EU is helping.

Much of Somalia has been torn by brutal civil war for 25 years. Since the overthrow of the authoritarian ruler Siad Barre in 1991, there has been virtually no central government controlling the entire country. The Islamist militia Al-Shabaab had occupied parts of the country in the meantime. Furthermore, for a long time pirates were raiding the strategically important coasts of the Gulf of Aden, regularly passed by international container ships. Since 2007, the African Union (AU) has maintained a peace mission in Somalia to combat Al-Shabaab and protect the young government.

Currently, more than 22,000 soldiers, police forces and civilian employees from Ethiopia, Burundi, Djibouti, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Uganda are stationed in Somalia within the framework of the African Union Mission to Somalia (AMISOM). Despite initial successes of the peace mission against the militia, even today the effective control of the now elected government hardly extends beyond the borders of the capital Mogadishu. Terrorist attacks continue to occur regularly, especially aimed at government buildings in the centre of the city.

In 2017 elections were held for the first time since the fall of the former authoritarian ruler Siad Barre in 1991. According to the transitional constitution, only the approximately 14,000 clan leaders were allowed to elect representatives, since half of the population was in exile anyway. In June 2019, the most important Somali government representatives met on allied territory in Uganda to discuss the elections scheduled for 2020 in safe hotels. Halima Ismail Ibrahim, chairman of the National Independent Electoral Commission of Somalia (NIEC), urged parliament to amend the electoral law to allow universal suffrage for all citizens. It would be the first time in 50 years that all Somalis had the right to vote in person. However, it is still unclear whether the elections can actually take place. The security situation is tense.

Migration: effect of war and part of Somali culture

According to World Bank estimates, one third of the Somali population have left their homeland in the past 25 years of civil war, which adds up to more than four million people. This makes Somalia one of the main countries of origin for refugees on the continent.

Most of them have been seeking shelter in neighbouring countries: When forced migration movements were the most intense, at the height of the drought in 2011 and 2012, almost half a million Somali refugees were living beyond the borders in the north-eastern desert region of Kenya. According to UNHCR, around 730,000 of them are still living in Uganda, Ethiopia, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti and Yemen. More than one million Somalis are internally displaced and seek protection within their home country, mostly in the safe regions of Puntland and Somaliland – both of which are quasi-autonomous states that broke away from Somalia during the civil war but are not internationally recognised.

Among the Somalis living abroad are not only war refugees, but also young men and women from the relatively peaceful areas of Somaliland and Puntland. According to a study conducted by the Rift Valley Institute, the number of young people who set off on their journey after leaving school is almost as high in these areas as in the embattled zones. Most are looking for a kind of work that matches their level of education, as there are no jobs in their home country, the study says. “Migration is a path to success in Somali culture,” explains Bram Frouws, a migration specialist at the RMMS think tank where migration movements in the Horn of Africa are studied. Many Somalis who today play an important role in the government and economy of the country have come back from exile in Europe or the USA.

In the Somali language there is now a word for the dangerous journey: “wuu tahribay” is what a family say when they report that their son has set out to seek his fortune in Europe. In Arabic, the term is used in connection with smugglers and traffickers. In Somali, especially in Puntland and Somaliland, it refers to migration to Europe. A popular destination is Sweden.

The routes are varied: the eastern one stretches from the Gulf of Aden, via the Arabian Peninsula, Iraq and Syria to Turkey, and on through the Balkans. The sea route traverses the Red Sea, across the Sinai and further via the Mediterranean through the Aegean Sea. The western route runs through Ethiopia, Sudan and Libya.

Somalis form one of the ten largest groups of asylum seekers in the EU. According to 2018 figures, they make up three percent of all asylum seekers in Europe, with an average recognition rate of 53 percent. In 2018, about 10,000 refugees from Somalia applied for asylum in the EU. Of these, 5,500 applications were successful while more than 3,000 were rejected. In Germany, according to the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF), Somalis make up the third largest group of asylum seekers from Africa after Nigerians and Eritreans. In 2019, the figure was around 5,000. Since August 2016, Somalia has been included, by the BAMF, on a list of countries of origin whose inhabitants have good prospects of remaining in Germany when claiming asylum. Previously the list had only included Eritrea, Iraq, Iran and Syria. According to data from 2016, more than 38,000 Somalis live in the Federal Republic of Germany.

Measures to stabilise Somalia

In recent decades, the international community has made expensive efforts to stabilize the war-torn country. The EU is supporting Somalia with €3.5 billion for the period 2015 to 2020, as  jointly agreed within the 2013 Somali Compact, which includes not only development aid and economic development but also the establishment of security structures such as the national army.

In addition, the EU has earmarked a further 200 million euros for the period 2014 to 2020, including peace-building measures and economic promotion such as support for small businesses, run especially by women, and vocational training. In 2017, the EU gave a further €119 million for food security in the face of an acute drought. Currently, the EU contribution accounts for around 60 percent of all humanitarian emergency aid for Somalia.

Under the National Indicative Programme (NIP), Somalia receives €286 million from the EU Emergency Trust Fund (EUTF). Further funds are being allocated proportionately to Somalia within the framework of the regional Khartoum process as well as in support of the region-based Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and the African Union.

Since 2007, the AU has maintained the abovementioned stabilisation mission in Somalia, AMISOM, which is largely financed by the EU:  Until today, the EU has spent more than 1.7 billion euros on the pay of Ugandan, Kenyan and Burundian AU soldiers and police officers. But in the course of setting up further EU military missions in Mali, Niger and the Central African Republic, the EU reduced its share by 20 percent at the beginning of 2016. Kenya and Uganda complained about outstanding payments to their soldiers in Somalia. Both countries threatened to withdraw from the mission in 2016. In the end, the EU pledged another 178 million dollars.

Already in 2010 had the EU established a training mission (EUTM) for the virtually non-existent army. Over 5,700 Somali soldiers and officers were trained by European military personnel, but not in Somalia itself. Due to the security situation, the Somali soldiers and officers were flown to Uganda, to be drilled by Europeans for months. Only after the security situation had improved in 2015 was the EUTM mission transferred to Mogadishu.

As part of the civilian EU mission EUCAP Nestor (Regional Maritime Capacity Building Mission in the Horn of Africa and the Western Indian Ocean), European instructors have been training the Somali coast guard in their fight against piracy since 2012.

In the maritime operation ATALANTA, European warships protect boats belonging to the World Food Programme (WFP), AMISOM and other actors against attacks by Somali pirates. As a result, the number of pirate kidnappings off the Somali coast has steadily decreased since 2011. The mission was extended by the EU Council in 2018 until 2020.

Operation Return

Refugees play an important role in the preparation of the elections. Their return would contribute to the democratisation and legitimisation of the government and thus to the stabilisation of the country. Even in the run-up to the last elections in early 2017, the returnees were key electoral players: “Keep in mind that your return is a sign of the revival of peace in Somalia and that you can make a difference for your country if you return home,” the then government spokesman addressed the more than 270,000 remaining Somali refugees in Kenya’s Dadaab camp while on a trip through the region. The refugee camps in the neighbouring country were decisive terrain for the election campaign at the time.

As early as 2013, Kenya’s and Somalia’s governments agreed to close the camps in Kenya in a trilateral agreement with the UN refugee agency UNHCR. This agreement set the deadline for voluntary return for the end of November 2016. Somalia and Kenya wanted to adhere to this date and accordingly increased the pressure on the refugees. UNHCR, on the other hand, insists on the international principle of voluntary return and does not expect the return to be completed until 2032.

In June 2016, Hassan Sheikh Mohammud became the first Somali president to visit the Dadaab refugee camp in Kenya. He promised his fellow countrymen: “We do not want you to return by force, without shelter, education and health care being available to you.” He did not say anything about who would pay for this. In fact in 2016, UNHCR did not even receive one third of the 150 million dollars budgeted for Somali refugee aid. The reception and accommodation of so many returnees in a short period of time would prove a Herculean task for a country that is almost completely destroyed after more than 20 years of war, explained Somalia’s government spokesman Daud Awais.

Nevertheless, deportations to Somalia are no longer taboo for the German federal government and the federal states. In June 2019, 200 rejected Somali asylum seekers from at least five different federal states were presented to Somali diplomats at the Foreigners’ Office in Kassel, according to the Kassel Regional Council. The aim was to establish their identity and issue travel documents.

According to the Hessian Refugee Council this is at least the second so-called embassy presentation for Somalis. Another one apparently took place at the end of 2018 in Eisenhüttenstadt, Brandenburg. According to a spokeswoman of Federal Interior Minister Horst Seehofer (CSU), there was a total of seven deportations to Somalia in 2018; four deportations took place  in 2019. “There is no deportation stop for Somalia,” Seehofer’s spokesperson Lisa Häger summed up the issue.

Many asylum applications by Somalis – although they are persecuted in their home country – are thus rejected, while they are also increasingly called upon to leave Germany voluntarily. Moreover, ever since the so-called Geordnete-Rückkehr-Gesetz (Ordered Return Act) was passed in the summer of 2019, rejected Somali asylum seekers can be forced to “voluntarily” leave the country by means of social welfare cuts. At the same time, it remains a German absurdity that authorities do not normally recognise Somali documents.

Returnees: dependent on EU aid

The EU is considered the most important donor for the stabilisation of Somalia. Fighting the root causes of forced migration for a long time used to be  the buzzword of the pertinent EU strategy, while the focus has now shifted toward supporting the returnees from Kenya. In Somalia, UNHCR has defined four “safe zones,” including the capital Mogadishu and the coastal town of Kismayo. UNHCR disburses 150 dollars and food rations for six months per person who wishes to return. In view of the projected shutdown of the camp and the payment of funds to refugees who are virtually destitute, this procedure does not meet the definition of “voluntary” and thus violates international law, says Victor Nyamori of Amnesty International in Kenya. There are more “push factors,” above all the fear of violent deportation, than “pull factors” such as the prospect of a better life at home.

Funds have also been pledged to Somalia from the EU’s Emergency Aid Trust Fund for Africa: The EU is transferring 50 million euros to UNHCR and IOM to ensure the reception and reintegration of returning refugees. Most of the returnees find their homes destroyed or occupied, and they are transferred to IDP camps that are now being set up by international NGOs. The EU is investing another 10 million euros in drought-affected northern Somalia to tackle the further root causes of forced migration.

The return of Somali refugees is thus of much relevance to Europe. For if large numbers of refugees return to the country from Kenya, the implied argument goes, European authorities will soon classify Somalia as safe country of origin.

image_pdfimage_print
Scroll to top

Somalia

Heimkehr, freiwillig und erzwungen

von Simone Schlindwein

Fast ein Drittel der somalischen Bevölkerung ist in 25 Jahren Bürgerkrieg geflohen – mehr als vier Millionen Menschen. Jetzt bemüht sich die Übergangsregierung um ihre Heimkehr. Die EU hilft mit.

In großen Teilen Somalias herrscht seit 25 Jahren ein brutaler Bürgerkrieg. Seit dem Sturz des autoritären Herrschers Siad Barre 1991 gibt es quasi keine Zentralregierung mehr, die das ganze Land kontrolliert. Die islamistische Miliz Al-Shabaab hatte zwischenzeitlich Teile des Landes besetzt. Piraten machten die strategisch wichtigen Küsten am Golf von Aden, durch welche internationale Containerschiffe passieren, unsicher. Seit 2007 unterhält die Afrikanische Union (AU) eine Friedensmission in Somalia, um die Al-Shabaab zu bekämpfen und die junge Regierung zu schützen. Aktuell sind mehr als 22.000 Soldaten, Polizistinnen und zivile Angestellte aus Äthiopien, Burundi, Dschibuti, Ghana, Kenia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone und Uganda im Rahmen der African Union Mission to Somalia (AMISOM) im Land stationiert. Trotz anfänglicher Erfolge der Friedensmission gegen die Miliz reicht selbst heute die Kontrollgewalt der mittlerweile gewählten Regierung kaum über die Grenzen der Hauptstadt Mogadishu hinaus. Es kommt nach wie vor regelmäßig zu Terroranschlägen, vor allem gegen Regierungsgebäude inmitten des Stadtzentrums.

2017 fanden zum ersten Mal seit dem Sturz des früheren autoritären Herrschers Siad Barre 1991 wieder Wahlen statt. Laut Übergangsverfassung waren nur die rund 14.000 Clanchefs autorisiert, Vertreter zu wählen, da sich ohnehin die Hälfte der Bevölkerung im Exil befand. Im Juni 2019 trafen sich nun die wichtigsten Regierungsvertreter Somalias im befreundeten Uganda, um dort in sicheren Hotels über die 2020 angesetzten Wahlen zu diskutieren. Halima Ismail Ibrahim, Vorsitzender der unabhängigen Wahlkommission (National Independent Electoral Commission of Somalia NIEC), drängte das Parlament, das Wahlgesetz zu ändern und eine generelle Wahl für alle Bürger*innen zuzulassen. Es wäre das erste Mal seit 50 Jahren, dass alle Somalier*innen das Recht hätten, ihre Stimme individuell abzugeben. Ob die Wahlen jedoch tatsächlich stattfinden können, ist nach wie vor unklar. Die Sicherheitslage ist angespannt.

Migration: Ergebnis des Krieges und Teil der Kultur

Ein Drittel der somalischen Bevölkerung, so schätzt die Weltbank, habe in den vergangenen 25 Jahren des Bürgerkrieges ihre Heimat verlassen; konkret: über vier Millionen Menschen. Dies macht Somalia zu einem der zentralen Herkunftsländer von Flüchtlingen auf dem Kontinent.

Die meisten suchten in den Nachbarländern Schutz: Jenseits der Grenzen in der nordöstlichen Wüstenregion Kenias lebten zu Hochzeiten der Flucht und der Dürre in Somalia 2011 und 2012 fast eine halbe Million somalische Flüchtlinge, rund 730.000 sind es nach UNHCR-Angaben bis heute in Uganda, Äthiopien, Sudan, Eritrea, Dschibuti und Jemen. Über eine Million Vertriebene suchen Schutz innerhalb des Landes, meist in den sicheren Regionen Puntland und Somaliland – beides quasi eigene Staaten, die sich während des Bürgerkrieges von Somalia losgesagt haben, aber international nicht anerkannt sind.

Doch unter den Somalier*innen im Ausland sind nicht nur Kriegsflüchtlinge, sondern auch junge Männer und Frauen aus den relativ friedlichen Gebieten Somaliland und Puntland. Eine Studie des Rift-Valley-Instituts besagt, dass die Zahl der jungen Menschen, die sich nach dem Schulabschluss auf die Reise machen, in diesen Gebieten fast genauso hoch ist wie in den umkämpften Zonen. Die meisten suchen nach Arbeit, die ihrem Bildungsniveau entspricht, da es in ihrer Heimat keine Jobs gibt, so die Studie. „Migration ist in der somalischen Kultur ein Weg zum Erfolg“, erklärt Bram Frouws, Migrationsspezialist des Think-Tanks RMMS, der Migrationsbewegungen am Horn von Afrika untersucht. Viele Somalier*innen, die heute in der Regierung und Wirtschaft im Land eine wichtige Rolle spielen, kamen aus dem Exil in Europa oder den USA zurück.

In der somalischen Sprache gibt es mittlerweile ein Wort für die gefährliche Reise nach Europa: „wuu tahribay“ sagt man in einer Familie, wenn man berichtet, dass der Sohn sich aufgemacht habe, sein Glück in Europa zu suchen. Im Arabischen wird der Begriff in Zusammenhang mit Schmugglern und Schleppern gebraucht, in der somalischen Sprache, vor allem in Puntland und Somaliland, meint man damit die Migration nach Europa. Ein beliebtes Zielland ist Schweden.

Die Routen sind vielfältig: Die östliche geht über den Golf von Aden, die arabische Halbinsel, den Irak und Syrien in die Türkei und weiter auf den Balkan. Die Seeroute führt durch das Rote Meer, über den Sinai und weiter durchs Mittelmeer in die Ägäis, die westliche Route via Äthiopien durch den Sudan und Libyen.

Somalier*innen zählen innerhalb der EU zu den zehn größten Gruppen von Asylbewerber*innen. Sie machen europaweit drei Prozent der Asylbewerber*innen aus, so die Angaben von 2018. Die Anerkennungsquote liegt im Durchschnitt bei 53%. 2018 stellten rund 10.000 Geflüchtete aus Somalia einen Asylantrag in der EU, davon wurden 5.500 Anträge positiv entschieden, über 3.000 abgelehnt. In Deutschland sind sie laut Angaben des Bundesamts für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) nach Nigerianer*innen und Eritreer*innen als die drittstärkste Gruppe der Asylbewerber*innen aus Afrika. Im Jahr 2019 waren es rund 5.000. Seit August 2016 steht im Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) Somalia auf der Liste der Herkunftsländer mit guter Bleibeperspektive. Zuvor umfasste die Liste nur die Länder Eritrea, Irak, Iran und Syrien. Über 38.000 Somalier*innen leben laut Angaben aus dem Jahr 2016 in der Bundesrepublik.

Maßnahmen zur Stabilisierung Somalias

Die Internationale Gemeinschaft hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten teure Anstrengungen unternommen, das Bürgerkriegsland zu stabilisieren. Die EU unterstützt Somalia im Rahmen des 2013 gemeinsam beschlossenen Somali Compact mit 3,5 Milliarden Euro für den Zeitraum 2015 bis 2020. Darin inbegriffen sind nicht nur Entwicklungshilfegelder und Summen für die Wirtschaftsförderung, sondern auch der Aufbau von Sicherheitsstrukturen wie der nationalen Armee.

Zusätzlich hat die EU für den Zeitraum 2014 bis 2020 weitere 200 Millionen Euro bereitgestellt, unter anderem für friedensbildende Maßnahmen sowie Wirtschaftsförderung wie die Unterstützung von Kleingewerbe, vor allem von Frauen und Berufsbildung. Im Jahr 2017 gab die EU in Anbetracht einer akuten Dürreperiode weitere 119 Millionen Euro zur Nahrungsmittelsicherung. Derzeit macht der EU-Beitrag rund 60% aller humanitären Nothilfe für Somalia aus.
Im Rahmen des Nationalen Indicative Programmes (NIP) profitiert Somalia von 286 Millionen Euro aus dem EU-Entwicklungs-Treuhandfond (EUTF). Weitere Gelder gehen anteilig an Somalia im Rahmen des regionalen Khartum-Prozesses sowie im Rahmen der Unterstützung der Regionalorganisation IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development) und der Afrikanischen Union.

Seit 2007 unterhält die Afrikanische Union die Stabilisierungsmission AMISOM, die von der EU maßgeblich finanziert wird: Mehr als 1,7 Milliarden Euro hat die EU seit 2007 für den Sold der ugandische, kenianischen und burundischen AU-Soldat*innen und Polizist*innen ausgegeben. Doch im Zuge des Aufbaus weiterer EU-Militärmissionen in Mali, Niger und der Zentralafrikanischen Republik reduzierte die EU zu Beginn des Jahres 2016 ihren Anteil um 20%. Kenia und Uganda klagten über ausstehende Zahlungen an ihre Soldat*innen in Somalia. Beide Länder drohten 2016, aus der Mission auszusteigen. Letztlich sagte die EU dann weitere 178 Millionen Dollar zu.

Bereits 2010 etablierte die EU eine Trainingsmission (EUTM) für die quasi nicht existente Armee. Über 5.700 somalische Soldat*innen und Offizier*innen wurden von europäischen Militärs ausgebildet, jedoch nicht in Somalia selbst. Aufgrund der Sicherheitslage wurden sie nach Uganda geflogen und dort von den Europäer*innen monatelang gedrillt. Erst nach Verbesserung der Sicherheitslage 2015 wurde die EUTM-Mission nach Mogadishu verlegt.

In der zivilen EU-Mission EUCAP Nestor (Regional Maritime Capacity Building Mission in the Horn of Africa and the Western Indian Ocean) trainieren europäische Ausbilder*innen seit 2012 die somalische Küstenwache in ihrem Kampf gegen Piraterie.

In der maritimen Operation ATALANTA schützen europäische Kriegsschiffe Boote des Welternährungsprograms (WFP), von AMISOM und anderen Akteuren gegen den Überfall von somalischen Piraten. Die Fälle von Kidnapping durch Piraten vor der somalischen Küste haben seit 2011 dadurch stetig abgenommen. Die Mission wurde 2018 vom EU-Rat bis 2020 verlängert.

Operation Heimkehr

Eine wichtige Rolle spielen bei der Vorbereitung der Wahlen die Flüchtlinge. Ihre Rückkehr würde zur Demokratisierung und Legitimierung der Regierung und damit zur Stabilisierung des Landes beitragen. Bereits im Vorfeld der vergangenen Wahlen Anfang 2017 spielten die Rückkehrer*innen eine entscheidende Rolle: „Behaltet im Kopf, dass eure Rückkehr ein Zeichen für die Wiederbelebung des Friedens in Somalia ist und dass ihr einen Unterschied für euer Land bewirken könnt, wenn ihr heimkehrt“, wandte sich der damalige Regierungssprecher bei einer Reise an die über 270.000 verbliebende somalischen Flüchtlinge in Kenias Lager Dadaab. Die Flüchtlingslager im Nachbarland waren damals für den Wahlkampf entscheidendes Terrain.

Bereits 2013 haben sich Kenias und Somalias Regierungen in einem trilateralen Abkommen mit dem UNHCR auf die Schließung der Lager in Kenia verständigt. Darin war die Frist einer freiwilligen Rückkehr auf Ende November 2016 angesetzt. Somalia und Kenia wollten an diesem Datum festhalten und erhöhten dementsprechend den Druck auf die Flüchtlinge. Das UN-Flüchtlingshilfswerk UNHCR hingegen beharrt auf dem internationalen Prinzip der Freiwilligkeit der Rückkehr und erwartet einen Abschluss der Rückführung erst für das Jahr 2032.

Hassan Sheikh Mohammud besuchte im Juni 2016 als erster somalischer Präsident das Flüchtlingslager Dadaab in Kenia. Er versprach seinen Landsleuten: „Wir wollen nicht, dass ihr gezwungenermaßen zurückkehrt, ohne dass euch Unterkünfte, Bildung und Gesundheitsversorgung zur Verfügung stehen“. Wer dafür bezahlen soll, darüber schwieg er sich aus. Das UNHCR hat im Jahr 2016 für die somalische Flüchtlingshilfe nicht einmal ein Drittel der für die Versorgung veranschlagten 150 Millionen Dollar erhalten. Die Aufnahme so vieler Heimkehrer*innen in kurzer Zeit sei eine Herkulesaufgabe für ein Land, das nach über 20 Jahren Krieg fast vollkommen zerstört ist, erklärte Somalias Regierungssprecher Daud Awais.

Abschiebungen nach Somalia sind für die Bundesregierung und die Bundesländer trotzdem kein Tabu mehr. Im Juni 2019 wurden nach Angaben des Regierungspräsidiums Kassel 200 abgelehnte somalische Asylbewerber*innen aus mindestens fünf verschiedenen Bundesländern in der Kasseler Ausländerbehörde somalischen Diplomat*innen vorgeführt. Das Ziel: die Feststellung ihrer Identität und die Ausstellung von Reisedokumenten.

Dem hessischen Flüchtlingsrat zufolge ist das mindestens die zweite sogenannte Botschaftsvorführung für Somalier*innen. Ende 2018 soll es eine weitere im brandenburgischen Eisenhüttenstadt gegeben haben. Nach Angaben einer Sprecherin von Bundesinnenminister Horst Seehofer (CSU) gab es 2018 insgesamt sieben Abschiebungen in das Land, 2019 bisher vier. „Für Somalia gibt es keinen Abschiebestopp“, fasst Seehofers Sprecherin Lisa Häger zusammen.

Viele Asylanträge von Somalier*innen werden darum trotz Verfolgung abgelehnt und die Menschen zur freiwilligen Ausreise aufgefordert. Mit dem Geordnete-Rückkehr-Gesetz, in Kraft seit Sommer 2019, können abgelehnte somalische Asylsuchende mit Sozialhilfestreichungen zur „freiwilligen“ Ausreise genötigt werden. Absurd ist jedoch, dass deutsche Behörden somalische Dokumente normalerweise nicht anerkennen.

Rückkehrer*innen: angewiesen auf EU-Hilfsgelder

Die EU gilt als größte Geldgeberin für die Stabilisierung Somalias. Fluchtursachenbekämpfung war lange Zeit das Stichwort der EU-Strategie, mittlerweile liegt der Fokus vor allem auf der Unterstützung der Heimkehrer*innen aus Kenia. In Somalia wurden vom UNHCR vier „sichere Zonen“ für die Rückkehr definiert, darunter die Hauptstadt Mogadischu und die Küstenstadt Kismayo. 150 Dollar und Lebensmittel für sechs Monate bekommen Rückkehrwillige pro Person vom UNHCR. Vor dem Hintergrund der geplanten Schließung des Lagers sowie der Auszahlung von Geldern an quasi mittellose Flüchtlinge entspräche dieses Verfahren nicht der Definition der „Freiwilligkeit“ und verletzte damit Internationales Recht, sagt Victor Nyamori von Amnesty International in Kenia. Es gebe mehr „Push-Faktoren“, vor allem die Angst vor gewaltsamer Abschiebung, als „Pull-Faktoren“ wie ein besseres Leben in der Heimat.

Aus dem EU-Nothilfe-Treuhandfond für Afrika wurden Somalia ebenfalls Gelder zugesagt: 50 Millionen Euro überweist die EU an UNHCR und IOM, um die Aufnahme und Reintegration der rückkehrenden Flüchtlinge zu gewährleisten. Die meisten Heimkehrer*innen finden ihre Häuser zerstört oder besetzt, sie kommen in Vertriebenenlagern, die jetzt von internationalen NGOs aufgebaut werden. Weitere 10 Millionen investiert die EU in das von Dürre betroffene Nord-Somalia, um Fluchtursachen zu bekämpfen.

Die Heimkehr der somalischen Flüchtlinge ist auch für Europa relevant. Denn kehren massenweise Flüchtlinge aus Kenia zurück ins Land, werden auch europäische Behörden Somalia bald als sicher einstufen.

image_pdfimage_print
Nach oben scrollen