Eritrea

Window-dressing through EU aid and migration cooperation

by Simone Schlindwein

For a long time, the small country had been isolated and its borders were closed. Millions of Eritreans seek protection worldwide from the authoritarian regime. A lot has changed since the opening of the border in 2018. 

Eritrea is one of the smallest, poorest, and youngest countries in Africa. In 1993, Eritreans struggled for independence from Ethiopia. Since then, the two neighboring countries had been in engaged in a stalemate akin to a cold war with highly fortified borders on both sides. In the summer of 2018, the archenemies suddenly signed a peace treaty to everybody’s surprise, thus setting a new dynamic in motion. Many Eritreans hoped for a democratization of their country – and were bitterly disappointed. Since then more Eritreans than ever before have fled the country.

To this date, the country at the Horn of Africa had been virtually isolated from the international community. The reason: the government of president Isaias Afwerki is considered one of the most brutal dictatorships on the continent. Eritrea is often called the “North Korea of Africa”. The UN Security Council has passed several resolutions since 2009, including an arms embargo and travel restrictions for key members of the government. The development cooperation between Germany and Eritrea was rescinded in 2007. However, since the Balkan crisis of 2015, more commonly known as the ‘refugee crisis’, the collaboration has been gradually revived. Amongst Africans, Eritreans are second only to Nigerians in applying for asylum in Germany. Since 2015, more than 75,000 Eritreans have been granted asylum in Germany.

“Top producer” of refugees in Africa

The UN Human Rights Report of June 2016 accuses the repressive regime of committing crimes against humanity, enslaving, torturing and holding the population as prisoners. The accusations often focus on the so called ‘National Service’, the obligatory civil and military service, to which all young people are automatically drafted upon leaving school and from which they are not released. According to the UN report, Eritreans are basically forced laborers for their entire life, and women are subjected to systematic sexual abuse in the military barracks. Escape from the military can be fatal – and yet many attempt to flee anyway.

According to the 2010 census, Eritrea had only about 5.7 million inhabitants. More than one million Eritreans out of the total inhabitants are by now seeking protection in exile, the World Bank estimates. According to the UN Human Rights Report, about 5,000 people flee every month, making Eritrea a “top producer” of refugees worldwide – especially in comparison to other African countries.

The Eritrean government makes a profit from the diaspora: all Eritreans are legally obliged to remit two percent of their income earned abroad, the so-called ‘reconstruction tax’. In a 2011 resolution, the UN Security Council accused the regime in Asmara of employing its tax revenues to fund the Islamist militia Al-Shabaab in Somalia.

More than half a million Eritreans seek refuge in neighboring countries: in Sudan, Ethiopia, Uganda, Kenya, and even in war-torn South Sudan. Up until 2012, Israel was considered a destination country for many Eritreans. However, as an increasing number of refugees fell victim to organ traders on their way through the Sinai desert and Israel started to systematically deport refugees to African third countries such as Uganda and Rwanda, most Eritreans now look for alternatives paths. So far, most Eritreans have fled Eritrea via Ethiopia and Sudan, passing Libya and Egypt on their way to reach Europe by boat via the Mediterranean Sea.

Until 2018, the escape from Eritrea was expensive and life threatening, reports Meron Estefanos, director of the Eritrean initiative for refugee rights ERRI and founder of a telephone hotline for Eritrean refugees in Sweden. According to ERRI it was difficult to flee from Eritrea’s capital Asmara. The border was very far away and the government monitored movements. Those who could afford it would bribe a government or army official in Asmara to be transported out of the country in a car with a diplomatic or government license plate number, sometimes even going as far as to the Sudanese capital Khartoum. According to ERRI, the price was up to 6,000 US dollars per person.

Extensive human trafficking networks

Just a few years ago, the border between Sudan and Eritrea was porous with few check points, providing an exit strategy for many. Even Eritrean Special Forces were able to enter Sudan unnoticed in order to stop migrants or to flee themselves. In 2016, UN investigators and European law enforcement agencies found that most of the trafficking networks spanning the route from Sudan to the EU via Libya are maintained by Eritreans. Trafficking and extorting ransoms are big business: at the beginning of 2016, fleeing from Eritrea to the EU cost about 3,500 US dollars, according to ERRI. In the following years the price rose to 15,000 US dollars due to extortions, especially in Sudan and Libya. There are increasing reports that Eritrean refugees are kidnapped by the Islamic State in Libya and are forcibly conscripted as fighters or sold off as slaves.

In recent years, the feared Rapid Support Forces (RSF), notorious for brutally suppressing mass protests in Sudan’s capital Khartoum in the summer of 2019, are also responsible for border protection alongside Sudan’s migration authorities. Both the RSF and Sudan’s migration authorities have increasingly arrested and deported refugees and migrants on their way to the Mediterranean. “The Sudanese arrest Eritreans and deport them. Simply because they want to show the EU that they are doing something,” says Zecarias Gerrima, deputy director of Africa Monitors, an Eritrean human rights organization based in Uganda that works for Eritrean refugees and researches their migration routes. “They know very well that it is not safe for Eritreans to return. They send them to their deaths.”

In 2016, the dreaded militia chief Mohamed Dagalo, also known as Hametti, became the highest-ranking border official in Sudan. He commands the above mentioned RSF, which is considered to be one of the most powerful forces in Sudan since the fall of the long-time autocrat Omar al-Bashir in April 2019. Sudan experts say that the EU’s migration policies have empowered Hametti. Owing to his connection to the genocide in the Sudanese civil war region Darfur, he is an alleged war criminal.

From a European perspective, the collaboration with Sudan has apparently worked out. The German Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) has reported a significant drop in the number of new asylum seekers from Eritrea since the opening of the Ethiopian-Eritrean border in September 2018. Previously, about 11,000 Eritreans had applied for asylum in Germany every year. In 2018, that number halved. According to the BAMF, there was a particularly drastic decrease in the number of asylum seekers after the opening of the border in September 2018.

The route to South America via Uganda

But this does not mean that fewer people are fleeing Eritrea. In fact, the number of people fleeing Eritrea has doubled, Gerrima says. According to his research, up to 200,000 Eritreans have arrived in Uganda alone since the opening of the border. They flee from Eritrea to Ethiopia through the open border. But most of them do not want to stay there, according to Gerrima, because, “They don’t trust the peace and they fear that Ethiopia could soon deport them again”.

Since Sudan’s border protection forces have been arresting and deporting more and more Eritreans, most Eritreans avoid making their way to Europe. “The route to Libya is effectively blocked”, says Gerrima. This is why Eritrean or Ethiopian smugglers no longer guide Eritrean refugees north towards Europe, but towards south. The smugglers charge 1,500 US dollars for the bus ride to Uganda via Kenya. Uganda has one of the most liberal refugee policies in the world.

Eritrean smugglers who used to work in Sudan and Libya have moved their activities to Uganda. Due to the immense corruption in Uganda’s immigration authorities, it is easy to obtain new passports. From Uganda you can travel without a visa to neighboring countries or to Malaysia, a country Uganda has friendly relations with. From there visas for South America can be obtained through the globally active Eritrean networks.

“Eritrean refugees are now being smuggled all the way to North America,” says Gerrima, who is in touch via Facebook and WhatsApp with numerous fellow Eritreans on this new route. “They fly from African airports to South America, taking some detours like Uruguay. From there they continue by car,” Gerrima explains. “Because they have to avoid controls, it can take one, two, even six months – or even years.”

“The EU deal with Sudan and Libya to combat smuggling does not work,” Gerrima concludes. “It has only made traffickers smarter.” Now the routes go through several airports in different continents with several visas. “This is no longer easily controlled,” he says, and warns, “If someone puts so much effort and money into this then this network will continue even if there is peace in Eritrea.”

Fewer Eritrean asylum seekers in Europe

The shift in escape routes to South America is thus a direct consequence of the EU migration policy towards Africa. The EU has achieved its goal: in 2018, asylum applications by Eritreans in Europe halved within a short period of time.

In most EU member states, Eritreans were the group with the highest number of asylum applications after Syrians and Afghans – and the number had been steadily increasing. In 2010, there were about 4,500 applications throughout the EU, of which 3,000 were granted. In 2014, before the so-called ‘refugee crisis’, 37,000 Eritreans applied for asylum throughout the EU, and almost half of them were granted. In 2015, the number was slightly lower with about 34,000 applications. The number of granted applications rose to 27,000, and in 2017, it peaked with 33,000. In 2018, the year in which the border was opened and the peace treaty in Eritrea was signed, the number was down to 15,000 applications.

Already in the 1980s, before Eritrea gained independence in 1991, Germany was a popular destination for people of Eritrean descent. Frankfurt was particularly popular due to the Eritrean Orthodox community. In 2017, the German Ministry for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) had assessed about 12,000 asylum applications, all of them were explicitly examined on a case by case basis. In 2018, the number of applications had halved to about 6,000.

This was good news for the German government and the EU. Following the peace treaty between Eritrea and Ethiopia, politicians in Europe hoped that a liberalization process would begin in Eritrea and that soon fewer people would flee. The BAMF confirms on request: Eritrea is not yet considered a safe country. BAMF staff had undertaken a delegation trip to Asmara with the Swiss sister authority SEM (State Secretariat for Migration) to assess the possible risks of returns in 2016.

BAMF and SEM’s final report states, “In the case of voluntary returnees from abroad who had previously refused service, deserted or left illegally, the draconian legal regulations do not seem to be applied at present if they have previously settled their relationship with the Eritrean state. A new unpublished policy will allow these persons to return with impunity. It can be assumed that the vast majority of people who have returned voluntarily in accordance with the regulations of this policy have in fact not been prosecuted. There are reservations however: As the policy is not public there is no legal certainty”. The report reveals a tendency in Europe to try to present the situation in Eritrea as “not so bad”. Similar tendencies can be found in reports from Danish, British, Norwegian, and Canadian immigration authorities.

In an internal message from the EU Commission to the EU Parliament on the new partnership under the European migration agenda, Eritrea was named a “priority country” shortly after the ‘refugee crisis’ in 2015. “Fighting the causes of flight” is the new goal of the EU, which is why the EU and above all the German government are reaching out to help President Afwerki.

Good cooperation between Germany and Eritrea

In December 2015, Federal Development Minister Gerd Müller became the first German minister in 20 years to travel to the capital Asmara and meet President Afwerki. “We can support Eritrea in stopping the exodus of young people by improving the living situation on the ground and, if possible, by opening up prospects for return. We are offering talks and explore ways to help, for example in job training. But this will only be possible if the Eritrean government introduces economic and political reforms and improves the human rights situation,” Müller said at a press conference. Eritrean government delegations then travelled to Berlin and Brussels. In September 2016, two ministers and the influential presidential advisor Yemane Gebreab announced a new era of “bilateral partnership” in Berlin, while Eritrean refugees protested outside the building.

Shortly after Federal Development Minister Müller’s trip to Asmara, the EU pledged 200 million Euros to Eritrea from the EU Development Fund (EDF) for the next five years in an agreement signed in January 2016. This included 170 million Euros in the areas of energy and electricity supply, and 20 million Euros in improving governance. Eritrea is also a recipient of the 45 million Euros provided under the so-called ‘Khartoum Process’ and ‘Better Migration Management’ (BMM).

Lip service to the EU or real commitment?

Several German MPs inquired about the goals of the German government with regards to their policies in Eritrea. The answer: EU aid is intended as an incentive for the Eritrean government to introduce reforms. A key ‘recommendation’ of the EU is the reform of the controversial military service and to reduce the length of service to 18 months as stated in the constitution. President Afwerki has made a positive statement to the international community that he intends to implement these reforms soon. On the other hand, young men, who fled the military service after the peace agreement, say the situation in the army has become even worse, and that there is no hope for change.

In an article, the news agency Reuters refers to anonymous sources within the Eritrean government, who claim that the promise to the EU is pure lip service. “This is what our president promised the EU and not us Eritreans,” Estefanos of the refugee initiative ERRI criticizes the EU policy. “A change in government is only possible if no money flows to Eritrea, and if even more sanctions are imposed,” she says.

 

image_pdfimage_print
Scroll to top

Eritrea

Mit EU-Hilfe in die Weltgemeinschaft

von Simone Schlindwein

Das kleine Land war lange isoliert und seine Grenzen verschlossen. Millionen von Eritreer*innen suchen weltweit Schutz vor dem autoritären Regime. Seit der Öffnung der Grenze 2018 hat sich vieles verändert ̶ oder doch nicht?

Eritrea ist eines der kleinsten, ärmsten und jüngsten Länder Afrikas. 1993 erkämpften sich die Eritreer*innen die Unabhängigkeit von Äthiopien. Seitdem herrschte zwischen den beiden Nachbarstaaten quasi ein kalter Krieg mit beiderseits hochgerüsteten Grenzen. Im Sommer 2018 schlossen die Erzfeinde überraschend einen Friedensvertrag, eine neue Dynamik wurde in Gang gesetzt. Viele Eritreer*innen hatten Hoffnung auf eine Demokratisierung ihres Landes – und wurden bitter enttäuscht. Seitdem fliehen mehr Eritreer*innen als je zuvor.

Bislang war das Land am Horn von Afrika quasi von der Weltgemeinschaft isoliert. Der Grund: Die Regierung unter Präsident Isayas Afwerki gilt als eine der brutalsten Diktaturen auf dem Kontinent, Eritrea wird oft als das „Nord-Korea Afrikas“ betitelt. Der UN-Sicherheitsrat beschloss seit 2009 mehrere Resolutionen, unter anderem ein Waffenembargo und Reiserestriktionen für die wichtigsten Regierungsmitglieder. Die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Eritrea war bereits 2007 eingestellt worden. Seit der Krise auf dem Balkan 2015, die gemeinhin als Flüchtlingskrise betitelt wird, wird sie jedoch Schritt für Schritt wiederbelebt. Eritreer*innen sind nach den Nigerianer*innen diejenigen Afrikaner*innen, die in Deutschland die meisten Asylanträge stellen. Seit 2015 haben über 75.000 Eritreer*innen in Deutschland Asyl erhalten.

Spitzenproduzent“ von Flüchtlingen in Afrika

Der UN-Menschenrechtsbericht vom Juni 2016 wirft dem repressiven Regime vor, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit zu begehen, die Bevölkerung zu versklaven, zu foltern und als Gefangene zu halten. Im Fokus steht dabei immer wieder der sogenannte Nationale Dienst, also der obligatorische Zivil- und Militärdienst, zu welchem alle jungen Männer und Frauen nach dem Schulabschluss automatisch eingezogen und aus dem sie nicht mehr entlassen werden. Quasi ihr Leben lang schuften Eritreer*innen als Arbeitssklav*innen, Frauen werden laut UN-Bericht systematisch in den Kasernen sexuell misshandelt. Die Flucht aus dem Militär kann tödlich sein – und dennoch wagen sie viele.

Laut dem Zensus von 2010 hatte Eritrea ohnehin nur rund 5,7 Millionen Einwohner*innen. Die Weltbank schätzt, dass mittlerweile über eine Million Eritreer*innen im Exil Schutz suchen. Laut UN-Menschenrechtsbericht fliehen monatlich rund 5.000 Menschen, damit ist Eritrea weltweit ein „Spitzenproduzent“ von Flüchtlingen – vor allem im afrikanischen Vergleich.

Eritreas Regierung erwirtschaftet aus der Diaspora durchaus Vorteile: Zwei Prozent ihres im Ausland erwirtschafteten Einkommens müssen alle Eritreer*innen laut Gesetz zurückführen, die sogenannte Wiederaufbausteuer. In einer Resolution warf der UN-Sicherheitsrat dem Regime in Asmara 2011 vor, mit Steuermitteln die islamistische Miliz Al-Shabaab in Somalia zu finanzieren.

Über eine halbe Million Eritreer*innen suchen in den umliegenden Ländern Schutz: im Sudan, Äthiopien, Uganda, Kenia, sogar im Bürgerkriegsland Südsudan. Bis 2012 galt Israel noch als Zielland vieler Eritreer*innen, doch seitdem eine zunehmende Zahl der Fliehenden auf ihrem Weg durch die Sinai-Wüste Opfer von Organhändlern wurden und Israel begann, Flüchtlinge gezielt in afrikanische Drittstaaten wie Uganda und Ruanda zu deportieren, suchen die meisten Eritreer*innen andere Wege. Bislang flohen die meisten Eritreer*innen via Äthiopien und Sudan in Richtung Libyen und Ägypten, um mit dem Boot über das Mittelmeer nach Europa zu kommen.

Die Flucht aus Eritrea war bis 2018 teuer und lebensgefährlich, berichtet Meron Estefanos, Direktorin der eritreischen Initiative für Flüchtlingsrechte ERRI und Gründerin einer Telefonhotline für eritreische Flüchtlinge in Schweden. Aus Eritreas Hauptstadt Asmara zu fliehen sei schwer gewesen, weil die Grenze sehr weit entfernt sei und die Bewegungen überwacht wurden. Wer es sich leisten konnte, habe in Asmara einen Offiziellen der Regierung oder der Armee mit einem Diplomaten- oder Regierungskennzeichen am Auto bestochen und sich aus dem Land fahren lassen, teilweise sogar bis in die sudanesische Hauptstadt Karthum. Der Preis betrug laut ERRI bis zu 6.000 Dollar pro Person.

Weite Schleusernetzwerke

Ursprünglich flohen die meisten Eritreer*innen in den Sudan – die Grenze war noch vor wenigen Jahren durchlässig und wenig kontrolliert. Selbst eritreische Spezialeinheiten konnten unbemerkt in den Sudan eindringen, um Migrant*innen aufzuhalten oder selbst zu fliehen. UN-Ermittler*innen und europäische Strafverfolgungsbehörden fanden 2016 heraus, dass die meisten Schleusernetzwerke, die von Sudan über Libyen bis in die EU hineinreichen, von Eritreer*innen unterhalten werden. Schleppertum und Lösegelderpressung sind ein gigantisches Geschäft: Bis Anfang 2016 kostete eine Flucht aus Eritrea bis in die EU rund 3.500 Dollar, so die Angaben von ERRI. In den darauffolgenden Jahren habe sich der Preis bis auf 15.000 Dollar erhöht, weil Lösegelder verlangt werden, vor allem im Sudan und in Libyen. Es häufen sich Berichte, dass eritreische Flüchtlinge vom IS in Libyen gekidnappt und als Kämpfende zwangsrekrutiert oder als Sklav*innen verkauft werden.

Sudans Migrationsbehörden sowie die umstrittene und gefürchteten Spezialeinheit (RSF), die unter anderem auch für den Grenzschutz zuständig sind, haben in den vergangenen Jahren zunehmend Geflüchtete und Migrant*innen auf ihrem Weg ans Mittelmeer festgenommen und deportiert. „Die Sudanesen nehmen Eritreer fest und deportieren sie. Einfach nur, weil sie der EU zeigen wollen, dass sie etwas tun“, so Zecarias Gerrima, Vizedirektor von Africa Monitors, einer eritreischen Menschenrechtsorganisation mit Sitz in Uganda, die sich für eritreische Flüchtlinge einsetzt und deren Routen recherchiert. „Dabei wissen sie ganz genau, dass es für die Eritreer nicht sicher ist, zurückzukehren. Sie schicken sie in den Tod.“

Oberster Grenzschützer im Sudan wurde 2016 der gefürchtete Milizenchef Mohamed Daglo alias Hametti. Er kommandiert die RSF (Rapid Support Forces), die nach dem Sturz des langjährigen Autokraten Omar al-Bashir im April als eine der mächtigsten Kräfte im Sudan gilt und Massenproteste in Sudans Hauptstadt Khartum im Sommer 2019 brutal niedergeschlagen hat. Sudan-Expert*innen sagen, dass die EU-Migrationspolitik Hametti zusätzlich Macht verschafft habe. Er gilt in Zusammenhang mit dem Völkermord in der sudanesischen Bürgerkriegsregion Darfur als mutmaßlicher Kriegsverbrecher.

Aus europäischer Sicht hat die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Sudan offenbar funktioniert. Das deutsche Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) meldet seit der äthiopisch-eritreischen Grenzöffnung im September 2018 einen deutlichen Rückgang von neuen Asylsuchenden aus Eritrea. Vorher hatten jährlich rund 11.000 Eritreer*innen in Deutschland Asyl beantragt. Im Jahr 2018 war es nur noch die Hälfte. Laut Angaben des BAMF ging die Zahl nach der Grenzöffnung im September 2018 besonders drastisch zurück.

Der Weg über Uganda nach Südamerika

Doch das heißt nicht, dass weniger Menschen aus Eritrea fliehen. Tatsächlich habe sich die Zahl der Geflüchteten aus Eritrea sogar verdoppelt, so Gerrima. Seinen Recherchen zufolge sind seit der Grenzöffnung bis zu 200.000 Eritreer*innen allein in Uganda angekommen. Sie fliehen über die offene Grenze aus Eritrea nach Äthiopien. Dort wollen jedoch die meisten nicht bleiben, so Gerrima. Der Grund: „Sie trauen dem Frieden nicht und fürchten, dass Äthiopien sie bald wieder abschieben könnte“.

Seit Sudans Grenzschutzeinheiten vermehrt Eritreer*innen festnehmen und deportieren, vermeiden es die meisten Eritreer*innen, den Weg gen Europa einzuschlagen. „Die Route gen Libyen ist faktisch blockiert“, sagt Gerrima. Deswegen werden eritreische Geflüchtete von eritreischen oder äthiopischen Schleusern nicht mehr nach Norden in Richtung Europa gelotst, sondern gen Süden. 1.500 Dollar verlangen die Schlepper für die Busfahrt über Kenia nach Uganda. Uganda hat eine der liberalsten Flüchtlingspolitiken weltweit.

Eritreische Schlepper, die früher in Sudan und Libyen tätig waren, haben ihre Tätigkeit nach Uganda verlagert. Aufgrund der immensen Korruption in Ugandas Immigrationsbehörden ist es einfach, frische Reisepässe zu besorgen. Von Uganda aus kann man visumsfrei in die Nachbarländer reisen oder auch in das befreundete Malaysia. Von dort aus werden dann über die weltweit aktiven eritreischen Netzwerke Visa für Südamerika beschafft.

Eritreische Flüchtlinge werden jetzt bis nach Nordamerika geschleust“, so der Eritreer Gerrima, der mit zahlreichen Landsleuten auf dieser neuen Route via Facebook und Whatsapp in Kontakt steht. „Sie fliegen von afrikanischen Flughäfen über Umwege nach Südamerika – zum Beispiel Uruguay. Von dort geht es mit dem Auto weiter“, erklärt Gerrima: „Weil sie Kontrollen meiden müssen, kann das ein, zwei, sogar sechs Monate dauern – oder sogar Jahre.“

Der EU-Deal mit Sudan und Libyen, Schleusertum zu bekämpfen, funktioniert nicht“, so Gerrimas Bilanz. „Er hat die Schlepper nur klüger gemacht.“ Jetzt gehen die Routen über mehrere Flughäfen in unterschiedlichen Kontinenten mit mehreren Visa. „Das lässt sich nicht mehr einfach kontrollieren“, sagt der Eriteer und warnt: „Wenn jemand so viel Mühe und Geld da hineinsteckt, dann wird dieses Netzwerk bestehen bleiben, selbst wenn es Frieden in Eritrea gibt.“

Weniger eritreische Asylsuchende in Europa

Die Verlagerung der Fluchtrouten nach Südamerika ist also eine direkte Folge der EU-Migrationspolitik gegenüber Afrika. Die EU hat damit ihr Ziel erreicht: Die Asylbewerberanträge von Eritreer*innen in Europa halbierten sich 2018 innerhalb kurzer Zeit.

In den meisten EU-Mitgliedstaaten galten bislang Eritreer*innen nach Syrer*innen und Afghan*innen als diejenige Gruppe, die am meisten Asylanträge stellen – und es wurden in der Vergangenheit stetig mehr: 2010 waren es EU-weit rund 4.500 Anträge, wovon 3.000 bewilligt wurden. Im Jahr 2014, also noch vor der sogenannten Flüchtlingskrise, beantragten bereits 37.000 Eritreer*innen europaweit Asyl, fast die Hälfte wurde positiv beschieden. 2015 waren es mit rund 34.000 Anträgen sogar etwas weniger, die Zahl der Anerkennungen stieg auf 27.000. Im Jahr 2017 erreichte die Zahl mit über 33.000 ihren Höhepunkt. 2018, also im Jahr der Grenzöffnung und dem Friedensvertrag in Eritrea, waren es hingegen nur noch 15.000.

Die Bundesrepublik galt schon vor der Unabhängigkeit in den 1980er Jahren als beliebtes Zielland für Menschen eritreischer Abstammung: vor allem Frankfurt, wo es eine eritreische orthodoxe Gemeinde gibt. Über rund 12.000 Asylanträge hat das Bundesamt für Migration und Flucht (BAMF) 2017 noch entschieden, alle jedoch ausdrücklich Einzelfallprüfungen. Im Jahr 2018 waren es mit rund 6.000 nur halb so viele Asylanträge.

Für die Bundesregierung und die EU ist das eine gute Nachricht. Politiker*innen in Europa hofften angesichts des Friedensschlusses zwischen Eritrea und Äthiopien, dass auch innerhalb der Diktatur eine Liberalisierung einsetzt und bald weniger Menschen fliehen. Das BAMF bestätigt auf Anfrage: Noch gelte Eritrea nicht als sicheres Herkunftsland. Doch Mitarbeiter*innen des BAMF hatten gemeinsam mit der Schweizer Schwesterbehörde SEM (Staatssekretariat für Migration) 2016 eine Delegationsreise nach Asmara unternommen, um die möglichen Risiken bei Rückführungen auszuloten.

Im Abschlussbericht heißt es: „Bei freiwilligen Rückkehrern aus dem Ausland, die zuvor den Dienst verweigert hatten, desertiert waren oder illegal ausgereist waren, werden die drakonischen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen derzeit offenbar nicht angewandt, falls sie zuvor ihr Verhältnis zum eritreischen Staat geregelt haben. Eine neue, nicht veröffentlichte Richtlinie sieht vor, dass diese Personen straffrei zurückkehren können. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die große Mehrheit der Personen, die gemäß den Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie freiwillig zurückgereist sind, tatsächlich nicht verfolgt wurde. Allerdings bestehen Vorbehalte: Da die Richtlinie nicht öffentlich ist, besteht keine Rechtssicherheit“, so der Bericht. Darin lässt sich die Tendenz ablesen, dass man in Europa versucht, die Lage in Eritrea als „gar nicht so schlimm“ darzustellen. Ähnliche Tendenzen sind in Berichten von dänischen, britischen, norwegischen und kanadischen Immigrationsbehörden zu lesen.

In einer internen Mitteilung der EU-Kommission an das EU-Parlament über die neue Partnerschaft im Rahmen der europäischen Migrationsagenda wurde Eritrea kurz nach der Flüchtlingskrise 2015 als „Prioritätsland“ bezeichnet. „Fluchtursachen bekämpfen“ heißt das neue Ziel der Europäer*innen, weshalb die EU und allen voran die Bundesregierung Präsident Afwerki helfend die Hand entgegen strecken.

Ziemlich gute Zusammenarbeit

Bundesentwicklungsminister Gerd Müller reiste im Dezember 2015 als erster deutscher Minister nach 20 Jahren in die Hauptstadt Asmara und traf Präsident Afwerki: „Wir können Eritrea unterstützen, den Exodus der Jugend zu stoppen, indem wir die Lebenssituation vor Ort verbessern und möglichst auch Rückkehrperspektiven eröffnen. Wir bieten Gespräche an und sondieren Hilfen, zum Beispiel in der beruflichen Ausbildung. Dies geht aber nur, wenn die eritreische Regierung wirtschaftliche und politische Reformen einleitet und die Menschenrechtslage verbessert“, sagte Müller in einer Pressekonferenz. Daraufhin kamen eritreische Regierungsdelegationen nach Berlin und Brüssel gereist. Im September 2016 eröffneten gleich zwei Minister und der einflussreiche Präsidentenberater Yemane Gebreab in Berlin eine neue Ära der „bilateralen Partnerschaft“, während vor den Türen eritreische Flüchtlinge protestierten.

Kurz nach der Asmara-Reise von Bundesentwicklungsminister Müller hatte die EU in einem Abkommen vom Januar 2016 für die nächsten fünf Jahre 200 Millionen Euro aus dem EU-Entwicklungsfond EDF zugesagt, darunter 170 Millionen in den Bereichen Energie- und Stromversorgung und 20 Millionen für die Verbesserung der Regierungsführung. Eritrea ist zudem im Rahmen des sogenannten Khartum-Prozesses und dessen Maßnahmen für „Besseres Migrationsmanagement“ (BMM) anteilig Empfängerland der in diesem Rahmen veranschlagten 45 Millionen Euro.

Land ohne Staatshaushalt

Die EU-Hilfe soll ein Anreiz für die Regierung in Asmara darstellen, gewisse Reformen anzugehen – so geht es aus mehreren Kleinen Anfragen an die Bundesregierung zu Eritrea hervor. Eine zentrale „Empfehlung“ der EU ist die Reform des umstrittenen Militärdienstes und die Reduzierung der Dienstzeit auf 18 Monate, so wie es in der Verfassung vorgesehen ist. Präsident Afwerki hat sich gegenüber der Internationalen Gemeinschaft positiv geäußert, dass er diese Reformen bald umsetzen wolle. Junge Männer, die nach dem Friedensschluss aus dem Militärdienst ins Exil geflohen sind, berichten hingegen: Die Lage in der Armee sei sogar noch schlimmer geworden, es gebe keine Hoffnung auf Veränderung mehr.

Die Nachrichtenagentur Reuters beruft sich in einem Artikel auf anonyme Quellen innerhalb Eritreas Regierung, die angeben, das Versprechen gegenüber der EU sei pures Lippenbekenntnis. „Das hat unser Präsident der EU versprochen und nicht uns Eritreern“, kritisiert Estefanos von der Flüchtlingsinitiative ERRI die EU-Politik. „Eine Änderung der Regierung ist nur möglich, wenn kein Geld nach Eritrea fließt und noch mehr Sanktionen verhängt werden“, sagt sie.

image_pdfimage_print
Nach oben scrollen